Board of Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners is the governing body and major policy-making center for county government. It is the legislative body with authority over most aspects of county government.

The County Board is responsible for making appointments to other boards, agencies and commissions that are integral, but often independent or semi-autonomous components of the county. The functions of many of these agencies and commissions are controlled by state policies and/or the public acts under which they are organized. County Commissioners serve as liaison members to these other boards, agencies and commissions.

Functions of the County Board include adopting the county millage rate, adopting an annual balanced budget, approving employee labor contracts and policies and ensuring legal compliance of County operations.

County Board Members serve 2-year terms, with partisan elections held on even years and terms starting in January of odd years.
Board meetings are held the second and fourth Mondays of every month at 6:00 p.m. in the Circuit Courtroom of the County Courthouse.

The Finance Committee meets the 3rd Thursday of every month at 6:00pm in the Board of Commissioners Room.
Please click on the link below to view/print the minutes of the Board of Commissioners' meetings.
Link: Board meeting minutes

Board Members
Pick on the following link to see a list of your elected County Board Members, and their information. 
link: County Board Members

Please use the following link  to access information regarding the various Dickinson County Committees. 
Link:  Dickinson County Committees

home page contact calendar